Customer Reviews

Overall Rating: 4 Stars
Average Based on 122 Reviews
love it!
Renee from RI wrote (September 09, 2012):
i bought this helmet over a year ago, and I am still in love with it! super comfortable, and it molded to my head with or without my hair!
Don't like the fit
Morgan A. from MA wrote (August 22, 2012):
I bought this helmet less than a month ago for shows. I used it for the first time at a show last weekend and was horrified to discover that the fit was terrible! I had it sized at the store with my hair up like I do for shows, but when I was trotting it kept sliding off of my head! It was so irritating that for the show I had the next day I wore my Tipperary schooling helmet, which felt a lot more comfortable and stayed in place. I'm going back to the Dover store to return the helmet and will try another JR8 without my hair up (then I can just use a hair net with a bow), but I'm a little skeptical about buying another CO now. What a disappointment! :(
Good helmet, super comfy, sits a little high
Kylie from CT wrote (August 07, 2012):
I recentaly bought this helmet as my old IRH was too small and had always been very uncomfurtable with almost no padding. This the comfiest (sp?) helmet i have ever worn. It gets very very hot in the desert of colorado but i stay perfectly cool in the helmet, while i dripped sweat with my IRH. I agree with everyone though, that it does sit a little high on my head, but looks great from the side. the harness can be annoying though
good helmet
lise from FL wrote (July 16, 2012):
I just recently got this helmet and i love almost everything about it. It looks professional and its comfortable. My only issue is that in florida it gets very hot and this helmet doesn't get me hot when I'm riding its when i take it off sweat starts dripping down my head and i feel overheated. If you show and you need a showing helmet i would recommend this helmet though.
Nice helmet.
Heidi from NC wrote (July 03, 2012):
I've had this helmet for a few months and everyone loves it. Granted I think when looking straight at me it looks like the helmet is sitting on the top of my head and not actually covering my head. From the side it looks great. I think it's just me.
Satisfieddd
Maddy from FL wrote (June 24, 2012):
I bought it when I showed in the hunters (now I show jumpers with the occasional hunters/big eq with a GPA), and I liked it. I never really really liked it. It was the name brand and all, but it didn't live up to what people made it out to be. It was comfortable and provided safety (even though I have never fallen and hit my head). However it was hugeee. I don't even have a necessarily big head but the size I had made me look like I had a good 4 inches above my head... not attractive
FANTASTIC helmet!
Charlotte from NC wrote (May 06, 2012):
This is my favorite helmet so far. It is a really nice, professional-looking helmet for a really nice price. It is beautiful, and it is great for both showing and schooling. It is nice and light weight, but also durable at the same time. I don't find it very hot at all, unless I'm in my long armed show shirt and it's 80 degrees outside. But that happens with every helmet that I've owned. I HIGHLY recommend this helmet!!
BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Horse Crazy from MD wrote (April 15, 2012):
Don't listen to the bad reviews, this is PERFECT for everything, I have a round head and it fits me PERFECTLY!!!!!!!
Great Helmet!
Clara from MA wrote (April 15, 2012):
I have had this for about a month and it is great. It fits me way better then my old one and is a much better design. It is wider then IRH helmets which is good for me. It is really comfortable. I got it in black/charcoal but both colors are great. It has no design flaws. I would recommend this to anyone, good for all disciplines and pleasure riding.
love this helmet!
Amanda from NJ wrote (April 10, 2012):
I've had this helmet for maybee 8 months noww and I absolutely love it! It's comfortable, doesn't make your head to hot, fashionable for schooling and shows! I have the one without the Charcol stripe but now I'm thinking about getting the one with the stripe!
Review
D from ga wrote (August 29, 2011):
I LOVE this helment! It's great for schooling and showing and it looks wonderful! This was my first CO helment and I LOVE it!!! Plus it doesn't get too hot in the summers! Recommended!
Review
Nicole from MA wrote (August 17, 2011):
I have had troxel for as long as i can remember, but when i got my charles owen i fell in love with it! it has been so comfy, nice looking and, lasts! I would recommend this to anyone!
Review
Victoria from Maryland wrote (August 14, 2011):
I have ridden in a GPA, a Troxel, and an IRH and I love my Charles Owen the most :) It fits me with or without my hair up. I've had it for more than 2 months now and it still doesn't smell; most of my past helmet have after a week or so. If dust, sand, or dirt gets on it, it's easy to shake off with your hand or wipe off with a rag. It's not the ayr8 but it definitely is the next best thing. I would buy another for the price it's at as well! I love it!
Review
Mimi from Oregon wrote (August 11, 2011):
When I first started riding I had one of those cheesy Aegis plastic helmets. I thought they were completely fine- until the day I fell off and only bumped my head a little. The plastic split! Since I had started jumping/eventing, I figured I needed an upgrade on my helmet. This one fits great! But you have to be sure about the measurements. I would go to a tack store to get the correct size. Although expensive- you cannot cheap out on helmets and/or your safety.
Review
Hannah from NC wrote (July 27, 2011):
I just thought I'd give an update on my helmet :) I got it back in November 2010 and still love it. I use it every time I ride! One istsy bitsy this is, that when you use it a lot, it forms to your head shape; this is a pretty cool feature but it does tend to get a bit bigger on the inside when this happens. If it put my hair up in it, it fits perfect! But my helmet came with little inserts so when it does this, all I gotta do is stick one it and, bam! Fits great! BUY THISSSSS I LOOVE IT!
Review
Nora from Oregon wrote (July 19, 2011):
THIS. HELMET. IS. TERRIBLE. THere is NO ventilation whatsoever. AND it was expensive! It looks OK, so one star. BUT even in very mild-weathered Oregon, i had major sweat issues. The glue started to melt in my helmet! There was icky purple glue everywhere. Now I to use wickystickits which amount up to a fair sum at the end of the year which is better spent on something else!! When I try to pull the wickys out, they leave a sticky patch on the helmet anyways, so i have to use them! I want a new helmet, but i spent way too much on this one for its quality, so i must deal with it for now...sigh! I would DEFINETLY go with the AYR8 if you really want a charles owen (they are definately fashionable to some) but if you really dont care about brand GET THE IRH VERSION. so much more ventilation...definitely. Did I spell defenately wrong FOUR times? Ugh. Well, the JR8 and ALSO the GR8 are as bad as my spelling.
Review
Jessica from TN wrote (July 19, 2011):
tried several of these helmets on and I hated them They made my head hurt and I felt like a turtle lol. I felt like someone in the army the way it looked. I guess if it fits your head correctly it is nice quality but it sqeezed my temples. I will stick with my GPAs
Review
katy from texas wrote (July 14, 2011):
best helmet ever!!!! the most professional looking helmet i've ever seen.
Review
Dance Tribute from Vermont wrote (July 08, 2011):
I hated the bowl-like design and the poor ventilation. The IRH XR9 is so much better because it has better venting and is classier. I don't like how it flatters only round faces as I have a very narrow face. Get the XR9 if you want a good helmet.
Review
Kaitlyn =D from Pennsylvania wrote (July 05, 2011):
This helmet is awsome!!!!!
Review
Logan from GA wrote (June 20, 2011):
I absolutely love this helmet. The only thing is that I overheat very easily any there isn't a whole lot of ventilation. A lot of people i know don't have the same problem with this helmet, but I am very sensitive and have gotten a little light-headed
Review
Noah the Pony from Nebraska wrote (June 07, 2011):
I love this helmet! The style is very nice, and looks very professional. My head is... more oval, and troxels did not fit AT ALL. IRH's were ok, but this fits much better. The padding will flatten out a little, but in my case this helped the fit because i got it a little snug. The only problem was ventilation, it can get hot in the summer, but overall a great helmet!!!
Review
Isabel from NY wrote (June 05, 2011):
The best possible helmet ever!!!! Prefect fit! awesome for everything!! Also shows! never will wear another helmet again!!! <3
Review
Rachel from Illinois wrote (June 05, 2011):
GREAT HELMET. I rode for it the first time, and I loved how it stayed on my head. I was a bit worried because you MUST always wear your helmet like you did when you tried it on or else it WON'T fit. So, be careful! Also it got a bit hot, but nothing bad compared to to other brands!
Review
Andrea from Texas wrote (June 02, 2011):
I just received my helmet yesterday and tried it on and it fit perfect! They are definetly true to size! I rode in it today and it is extremely comfortable! The fit is snug and it doesn't rock forward or backwards. I did sweat in it, but in the Texas heat, you will sweat in anything! I do love this helmet and would buy another and definetly recommend it!
Review
Caroline from MA wrote (June 01, 2011):
I LOVE THIS HELMET! I got it a few days before a show and it is a great show helmet! It also fits GREAT on your head. If you buy it you will love it!
Review
Sydney from Nova Scotia wrote (May 24, 2011):
Great helmet. I was warned to buy this helmet a size smaller because apparently the foam on the inside will eventually shrink to fit to your head which will make the helmet become too large. SO BUY SMALL and it will fit great after the first few rides :) I LOVE MY JR8! :)
Review
Lisa from MT wrote (May 24, 2011):
I bought this helmet for my daughter. We had been through many cheap poorly fitting helmets which she hated. Since she rides hunters I wanted something nice looking. This helmet is awesome - sometimes she forgets to take it off after riding which NEVER happened with any other helmet. She loves the comfort and style.
Review
Katelyn from California wrote (May 10, 2011):
great helmet classy look, looks awesome and it is very comfortable and has a good fit, and padded for a great price.
Review
Molly from SC wrote (April 12, 2011):
This helmet is good if you need something with a classy look, but a very affordable price. I had mine from May to January and ended up returning it and getting the AYR8. The padding wears down thin if you use it a lot (like me!) and sweat a lot (like me!) in your helmet. When the padding wore down (almost 4 months after hard use) it became much too big and was falling into my eyes during clinics (hazardous AND embarrassing) and shows. It was flattering and comfortable, but definitely cheap-ly built. Charles owen, however, is a great designer and keeps the classy look for any english discipline (I event, but a lot of buyers of CO do hunters).
Review
kate from NY wrote (March 13, 2011):
I LOVE this helmet. It fits me perfectly and the padding is great. It doesnt make my head look like a huge mushroom. I was trying to decide between this helmet and the GR8 but i actually preffered this helmet's harness. It looks more elegant and i will never buy a different hemlet. I
Review
Suzie from GA wrote (March 13, 2011):
This is a great helmet for the price! However, there is not great venting and after a few uses, the lining started ripping and the glue leaked out. My hair got stuck in the glue every time I took it off.
Review
Sarah from PA wrote (March 13, 2011):
I was in the need of a new helmet for the upcooming show season because my old one was too small and not a very nice quality. I needed a nice quality helmet for the big shows I would be going to such as Region 13 and Sport Horse Nationals. This helmet is simply stunning. The picture does not do any justice because it is more beautiful in person. This helmet fits very well on my head and is super comfortable. I was hesitant to buy a helmet without the dial fit in the back, but I have no worries anymore! This helmet is priced wonderfully, especially for the high quality of this product. I HIGHLY recommend this helmet to everyone for showing.
Review
Sammy from RI wrote (February 23, 2011):
I REALLY like this helmet i bought it about a year and a half ago and i still use it for schooling!(what i bought it for) When i fell off my horse the dirt came off easily and the color stayed the same.(this happened a few times) the padding on the inside stretched as time went by, but still fit my head snuggly. This helmet fit my head nicely and i just love it! no complaints!
Review
Laura from NC wrote (February 21, 2011):
This helmet is very oddly shaped and not very flattering to people with normal heads. For some reason Charles Owen thinks that everyone's head is shaped like an oval....to an extreme. If you have a round head, go with the IRH. They are much better!! Don't waste your money. Unless you have an elonggated skull ;)The padding also wears down very thin. Cheaply built.
Review
Amelia from Washington wrote (February 16, 2011):
I LOVE this helmet!! It is so comfortable and light! I ride 6 days a week, rain or shine, and this helemet holds up great! Not only does it look fabulous in the show ring, it is also practical when schooling! It fits my head really well, tons of friends have this helemt, and we all LOVE it!
Review
Chloe from Canada wrote (February 12, 2011):
I got this Helmet for Christmas this year. It's a really good helmet. The only problem I had was the Silky Frabric in the inside, It slips around on my Hair and moves a bit to much. The size down was to small for my head. But other than that...AMAZING.. And I'm picky on my Helmets. LOL. I'm planing to use it as my Show Helmet. So far I've used it like 100 times and STILL looks brand new. I love this helment. Haha.
Review
Megan from NE wrote (February 11, 2011):
I am OBSESSED with this helmet! It fits perfect, looks great and has held up wonderful! It looks so sophisticated and does not give the gross giant head look! i give this a 100% for a great schooling and cheap wonderful showing helmet!
Review
Claire from Wisconsin wrote (January 26, 2011):
LOVE IT! I got it 2 years ago for Christmas, and I am hooked! I used to have a Troxel schooling helmet, also a good choice, but it got too small, and I am super happy with my new CO! Looks just like the GR8, but buch cheaper. :D I use it for every ride, usually 2 or 3 days a week, and has showed ablsolutely no signs of wear and tear. It seemed a little small at first, but after 1 or 2 rides, it forms to your head very well. I cannot say enough good things about this helmet, and when it is time to get a new one, definitely getting another Charles Owen!
Review
Maddi from Minnesota wrote (January 22, 2011):
I got this helmet for christmas. It is a awesome helmet. After wearing it about 4 times the lining in the inside started to come off. I contacted dover and they told me good fabric glue would work, or else exange it. I plan to use fabric glue. Overall, great helmet. It is true to size and is a pleasure to ride and show in. Awesome helmet for the price.
Review
Sarah from New York wrote (January 21, 2011):
I love the look of this helmet- very modern and clean cut for the show ring. I order the normal size I would- a 7 1/4- waited the two weeks, and was disappointed when I received a helmet that not only sat 'perched' on my head but felt like a half size too small! Make sure to order bigger in this helmet! I switched back to the brand I was in before. Some heads just don't fit the CO style!
Review
Amanda from Ohio wrote (January 05, 2011):
I was super excited to get this helmet for christmas this year- it's really attractive and looks very similar to the gr8, but for a much more reasonable price! I was extremely disappointed, however, when it arrived because although I am usually a 7 3/8, I ordered a 7 1/2 to be sure to fit my hair and it didn't even fit with my hair down! This helmet is NOT true to size at all and was definitely too good to be true.
Review
Jessi from Minnesota wrote (December 29, 2010):
I got this helmet for chirstmas and love it. Charles Owen always has good quality helmets. It gives you that final touch in the show ring. And, on cold days in the winter it keeps you warm (: I suggest this helmet to anyone looking for a nice cheap showing helmet!
Review
Emily from Colorado wrote (December 27, 2010):
I LOVE this helmet!!!! It looks good enough to show in but is great for every day schooling as well. I have had it for just over 6 months and it still looks brand new. Worth the money.
Review
Faith from MA wrote (December 25, 2010):
Very attractive helmet- however, the size and shape is not right for my head. I'm normally a size 71/2 in an other helmets.When I tried the 71/2 in this helmet, it was way too small, while the IRH of the same size was actually a little big. I'm disappointed with this product, and I'll have to buy the GR8 for over $100 more to fit my head better. People with smaller heads probably won't have this problem.
Review
Summer from Michigan wrote (December 19, 2010):
Okay helmet, but I returned it. It has a very round shape, made me feel like a had a sawed-off bowling ball on my head! Guess I'm just not a C.O. girl. Got an IRH Elite and I love it.
Review
aunt con from IL wrote (December 16, 2010):
Wonderful helmet...feels very secure. Buy it..you will not regret it! I love mine!
Review
Helen from SC wrote (December 12, 2010):
I love this helmet!! It fits prefectly and looks great. It really ties your show outfit together and doesn't make your head look big!!!! The black/black is so fancy!! I have had mine for a year and it looks new!!! Hint: I have the black/black and it looks sssooo much better in real life then it does on the screen-it's really the way to go!!!!
Review
Ellen Walsh from Mass wrote (December 01, 2010):
I just bought this helemt as an upgrade from the previous helemt i had for showing. I tried it on in the Dover store in RI and immedialty wanted the helemnt. After some adusting with the straps, it fit perfectly!! so comfortable
Review
Connie from IL wrote (November 27, 2010):
Love it..the best helmet i've owned. very comfy, you won't be disappointed.
Review
Jane from CA wrote (November 27, 2010):
I love love love this helmet!! I have had it for 6 months and it is ahmazing! definitely worth the money
Review
Kim from Maryland wrote (November 26, 2010):
I love this helmet! It's great! I got a size too big when I first got it but, I still use it.. Several people at my barn have them..The less expensive side for a great brand and helmet.. Thanks Dover!
Review
Elle from NE wrote (November 24, 2010):
I LOVEEEEEE this saddle! It is comfortable, flattering, and looks really put together at shows...i will NEVER have anything but CHARLES OWEN JR8!!!!!!!!!!!
Review
Stella from NE wrote (November 24, 2010):
I ADORE this helmet! Fit perfect...the black/black is gorgeous, i dont have the big head look and it really puts your look together for shows..it is just perfect! No complaints and ive had it for a year!!! :)
Review
Hannah from NC wrote (November 20, 2010):
I LOVE this helmet. I got it about a month or so ago and have never regretted buying it. I didn't get it from Dover because I was worried about the sizing, but next time I get a CO (im deffinately gonna use them from now on) im getting it from here!!!!!
Review
Devon from NM wrote (November 20, 2010):
I think this would be a well fitting helmet for someone with a very oval shaped head, which mine apparently is not. The helmet was tight on the sides despite ordering a size up, and the build quality was mediocre.
Review
Wendy from Florida wrote (November 16, 2010):
LOVE this helmet! Super comfy and dries out quickly.
Review
Avery from LA wrote (November 07, 2010):
I love this helmet! I used to use an old IRH helmet that was itchy and gave me *TERRIBLE* Helmet hair. I then bought this helmet. When it arrived I put it on. It was the most compfy thing in the world. I like how the pads around the helmet soak up the sweat but yet the helmet doesn't stink. Good Buy!!!
Review
Rachel from Texas wrote (October 17, 2010):
I bought this helmet a little while ago and i LOVE it! It's super comfy and fits great. I rode in a plain old training helmet before and this one is sooooo much better! Worth the price.
Review
Sophia from OR wrote (October 10, 2010):
I have had this helmet for a few months and I love it! It is INSANELY comfortable and I cant stand my old helmet now. I wish I could afford the GR8 because I like the chin strap better, but that it the only notacible difference. I hate riding in my arena now if its dusty because I want to keep this helmet beautiful :)
Review
melissa from Mass wrote (September 29, 2010):
I love this helmet!!!!!!!!! every time you look at it you want to put it on its soooo comfy zoo much padding looks great perrfect for showing
Review
Lisa from MT wrote (September 17, 2010):
I bought this for my daughter after trying many, many cheap helmets - this helmet is so worth the money!!. Don't waste your time buying cheap ones - eventually you will have spent more than you would if you just bought this one in the first place. I will never use another brand - this is the best!
Review
Bella from CA wrote (September 11, 2010):
This is a great helmet! I love it and would recommend it to anyone, and the price is Low for what you get!!! It's so comfortable and looks great!! Fantastic helmet, I love it!!
Review
Jill from MA wrote (September 08, 2010):
I absolutely LOVE this helmet. I've had it for about a year and a half now and I love the way it feels, looks, and holds up. My one complaint is that it tends to start to smell during the summer with all of the heat/sweat, but if you get the helmet sanitizer (depending on when you buy the helmet it may be free... mine was!) it is no problem! Would suggest getting it nice and tight, it might hurt a little while breaking it in but it definitely does stretch!! I got this one instead of the GR8 because my head is still growing, basically the same helmet but much cheaper!
Review
Maxi from Koob wrote (August 02, 2010):
this is the best helmet ive ever owned. period. you do NOT have to buy a GR8 because id say this is better. no mushroom heads or any thing!!! *****
Review
Courtney from Florida wrote (July 27, 2010):
I love this helmet! I ride AND show in it, and when it gets dirty with hair, I use a lint roller and it comes right off and looks brand new! It makes anybody look fashionable and pro! It is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned/worn and I advise anybody to buy one, It is very cheap and reasonable. The padding in it fits your head like a glove and IF the helmet fits you correctly I think the helmet wouldn't fall off of your head even if you didn't buckle it! Low Maintence and it has plenty of room, I don't even need a hairnet to hold my hair in my helmet, but since I do have to show in one, I wear one. There is nothing negative about this helmet unless you use it wrong, or it's something you did wrong. (:
Review
Laura from NH wrote (July 23, 2010):
I love this helmet. It's great with holding up in falls, and staying clean. If it does get dirty it's not hard just wipe it down with a damp cloth. I've had this helmet since fall of '09 and it doesnt have any scratches on it and I have fallen off many times with it and it's very protective.
Review
Blaire from NC wrote (July 23, 2010):
I love my helmet, its perfect for the summer time and show season. It keeps you cool and comfortable to last you days. Also, for what you get the price is REALLY good. It's wonderful (:
Review
erin from NY wrote (July 21, 2010):
i absolutly love this helmet! i bought it for schooling because i was happy with my showing helmet but now that i have this one im replacing that show helmet for a JR8.
Review
Cindy from CT wrote (July 09, 2010):
I LOVE! This Helmet! First helmet that doesn't hurt my head and still looks stylish! worth the price!
Review
Ashley from MN wrote (June 22, 2010):
I show in the large ponies and this helmet has been perfect for me. If we ever leave the barn in a rush I ALWAYS forget I am wearing my helmet and always walk into stores with it on. It is perfect and cushy. I wanted something for schooling so I purchased black/black. With HOT minnesota summers it works fantastic, keeping my head cool!
Review
Sarah from Hawaii wrote (June 22, 2010):
I had purchased this helemt from the great review hoping to find something to replace my junk old helmet. But I found the helmet squezzing the back of my head. So beware if you buy this helmet it is an ovel shape and not made for round heads. I also did not like the straps. Not as sucure it seems. But my mom fit it perfectly?! Try it on before you buy. =)
Review
Hannah from Oregon wrote (June 13, 2010):
I adore this helmet, it is soo comfy!! And it looks FANTASTIC on my head and when it isnt on it too. I got black/black and just love it. If I crash and have to replace this one, I'm getting the same one again for sure!!!
Review
Mikaela from Massachusetts wrote (June 12, 2010):
I love love love this helmet! The material is great and the inside is super comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone.
Review
kate from ny wrote (June 08, 2010):
love ! have had it for 3 years its fantastic ! holds up great .
Review
kristyn from ny wrote (June 03, 2010):
I love the look of this helmet, but because i have a round head it kinda makes me look like an egghead. Although, the fabric is AWESOME and does not scuff up but after using everyday for 3 months and after i put it in my helmet bag and zippered it up, it started to smell. I would reccomend this helmet though to anybody because it is a great helmet to school in and is a AWESOME helmet to show in.
Review
Katherine from NY wrote (May 31, 2010):
I LOVE MY JR8!!! I've had mine for about 5 months and I will never get another brand of helmet again. I used to have a cheap schooling IRH,and this helmet is such a relief. It wasn't itchy on the forehead after a ride. I recommend this helmet to anyone!!
Review
April from AL wrote (May 14, 2010):
I was worried about spending this much on a helmet, but now that I have it I NEVER want another helmet!! This helmet is totally worth the price and I love how it looks. The CO JR8 is the best helmet ever.
Review
Katie from California wrote (May 10, 2010):
I love my JR8! Its the only helmet I'll ride in. Yesterday I let my friend use it since she had to ride a young warmblood and I was just cruising on my old guy. I used her Troxel and felt so uncomfortable! It was so horrible to wear, I ended up riding without a helmet. I guess im just spoiled by my Charles Owen now :P. I would reccomend this helmet to anyone and everyone! The only one i think i MIGHT like better is my trainers SpeedAir....but for $500? No way. Im sticking with my JR8!
Review
Kate from NY wrote (May 06, 2010):
I LOVE this helmet!!! i tried on the Gr8 and the Jr8 and i actually preffered the look of this one because it suited my small face. its VERY comfy and it doesnt get hot in warmer temperatures. this helmet is soooo worth the money and i would definately recommend it! :)
Review
Devon from Ga wrote (May 03, 2010):
I LOVE this helmet! I've had it for about 3 years now and its held up great with every day use and i can still show in it and it looks brand new. I love the fit and the way it looks it's so comfy it's like there's nothing there. Great as an affordable option to show or school at home in.
Review
Kavita from Texas wrote (April 28, 2010):
I love this helmet! It doesn't make your head look awkward like some of the older types of helmets. It fits very well and flush with your head. Great buy for this price!
Review
Sarah from IL wrote (April 15, 2010):
This is a top quality helmet for the price. The fit is great and so is the look.
Review
Kai from NY wrote (April 10, 2010):
I ended up buying this though I am not 100% happy. I LOVE it for schooling and training rides, which are casual with my hair down. It may be because of my super thick hair, but when I put it into my helmet for shows it just sits on top of my head, no protection. Therefor I could not enter the hunter ring looking that ridiculous. I had to where my hair in braids like a small pony rider. While my hair is DOWN it fits veyr nice, comfortable and easy to clean. This is made for oval heads. The 6 3/4 and 6 7/8 have more of an 1/8 difference. the 6 3/4 fits perfect and the 6 7/8 is HUGE on my head. it just slips.
Review
ziena from ohio wrote (April 04, 2010):
this was a good helmet, but the shape was for people with oval heads and my head is very round. this helmet did not fit my head even though it was the correct size.
Review
bob from HI wrote (April 02, 2010):
I absolutely love this helmet! its BEAUTIFUL! its super comfy and fits great! i was a little worried ordering online but i just measured my head and ordered that size and got a PERFECT fit!
Review
Avery from Louisiana wrote (March 28, 2010):
I love this helmet.Ihad fallen in love with it a year back.I finally bought it and I LOVE it. It fits good and snug in my fore head. It loks great with a show outfit, and it's easy to care for.Buy It!!!!=)
Review
kitty from PA wrote (March 13, 2010):
I love this helmet! I have an odd shaped head, and I heard that people with odd shaped heads wont fit in charles owen. I never even really looked twice at them because they're so expensive. But I finally decided to go and try one on because I needed a new showing helmet. So I tried it on and was SO suprised! It fits so well! I had always been with IRH helmets, even though they made my head look HUGE. When I tried it on, it made my head look sooo much more normal and basically it was more flattering. However, they were sold out of my size! I had to order it, which was no problem. I ended up being a size smaller then my IRH helmet. The pros of this helmet are that they're definetely low profile, they're comfortable, nice enough to show in but casual and durable enough to ride in, and the price. WOW. I've never seen that nice of a helmet for that cheap! I would definetely try out this helmet. I had to ride in it for about a week before I got used to it, but I now love it (:
Review
Anna from CT wrote (March 10, 2010):
I fell and hit my head, needing to replace my IRH, and I thought I would try a Charles Owen JR8. It seemed like an amazing helmet for the price, and it is! It fits like a glove and is super-comfortable!
Review
Elizabeth from Alabama wrote (March 01, 2010):
I am replacing my Troxel schooling helmet and International velvet show helmet with one helmet this time- the Charles Owen JR8! It looks nice enough for show, but is durable and comfy enough for everyday. I like the glove-like fit and extra cushy pads inside. My head is oval and it fits great, unlike some helmets that wobble side to side. Definitely try it on before ordering. I usually wear a 7 1/8 and ended up in a 6 7/8.
Review
Abby from Michigan wrote (February 22, 2010):
Just got the JR 8 as an upgrade from my velvet Troxel, and I love it! True to size, I was a little worried about ordering on-line but no tack shops close to me carried C.O. But I had nothing to worry about because it fits great! Even with my thick hair up in it, it's still quite comfy. Looks great, very spiffy. Good choice for those of us who can't afford the more expensive GR8.
Review
Emily from CT wrote (February 20, 2010):
This helmet is ahhhmazing!!!! I started looking for a new helmet like 3 days ago, and bought this one the first time i felt it. Its sooo comfty. I legit wore it around my house and didnt want to take it off. It fits like a glove(in a good way) both with my hair up and down. I didnt feel a differnce between this hlemet and the GR8, other then it cost like 100$ less.
Review
Julia from MA wrote (February 18, 2010):
I absolutely LOVE this helmet. I have a huge head and extremely thick hair and i ordered the 71/2 and its so comfortable. Its a little tight on me and its still even more comfortable than any helmet I've ever worn. Its really attractive too, and as long as you dont have a size 8 or above head, no one will ever know you paid so much less for the jr sized one. My only complaint is that the buckle is awkwardly large, but it is not uncomfortable and is barely noticeable looking at it. great buy. Get this helmet.
Review
Andrea from New York wrote (February 16, 2010):
I absolutely love this helmet! It fits perfectly and it just looks so nice! Best helmet I've ever worn and it's such a great value!
Review
Ashley from MN wrote (February 14, 2010):
I got this helmet for Christmas and at first the fit was a little awkward but after riding in it for about a week it feels like a pillow on my head. Absolutely love it! Don't spend the extra money on the GR8 and go with the JR8!!
Review
Jennifer from WV wrote (February 10, 2010):
I love this helmet! The price is great and it looks very nice when you are on. No one will ever know you paid so much less than the Gr8!And i never even sweat in it!
Review
Miley from Florida wrote (January 21, 2010):
I switched to this helmet from the IRH interchangeabble. Im in love! It fits great and very comfy. It is practilly sweat proof! after I ride there is no sweat in the helmet a very little bit on my head. Just make sure if you are going to wear your hair up under it that you measure it like that!
Review
Sue from Tn wrote (January 20, 2010):
Incredible value on a show helmet! No one will know you paid $100 or more less than others with a Charles Owen. Fit is perfect, but is shaped more oval compared to the GPA. Felt a little snug on the sides at first. Now feels great! Beautiful helmet.
Review
Steffani-Giana from CA wrote (January 05, 2010):
this is really great! I wouldn't reccomend it for schooling or trail riding because it can make your head get all sweaty. Over all, wonderful helmet for showing!
Review
George from Ohio wrote (December 28, 2009):
I have a round head and when I got this helmet it did NOT fit my head, it squeezed really badly on the sides and had extra room in the gront and back. I would NOT reccommend this helmet to any one with a round head. I think it has a very nice look though, so if you have a oval head then you will probally enjoy it.
Review
Erin from TX wrote (December 21, 2009):
Great helmet. Very comfortable, looks good too. I've had no issues with getting too hot. I love the harness. This is a great, quality helmet that I look forward to having for a long time!
Review
Micaela from PA wrote (November 30, 2009):
I sold my horse, and I got to keep half of the money I sold him for, because I earned half of it. I spent almost all of it, and then decided to get this helmet with what I had left. It fit in the shop, but the lining quickly wore away and is now to big to ride in. Thankfully, I had my old helmet that still fit but I could not show in. The buckle also wore out quickly. Also, the outside wore away quickly. I have a friend that owns the GR8 and has had hers for 2 years and it isn't even as worn out as mine. I do not recommend this helmet to ANYONE. It may be less expensive, but it is not worth the money I paid for it. The GR8 is much more worth the money.
Review
Emily from WA wrote (November 13, 2009):
BEST HELMET IVE EVER OWNED fits great dose not get stinky like most do i had a Troxel legacy and it stunk the first time i used it this is a nice helmet i'm defentely a charels owen buyer for life plus it dosnt make your head look huge great price too!!! happy riding!
Review
Blake from PA wrote (November 13, 2009):
LOVE this helmet. Super fit and easy to wear, and very comfortable even on hot days. Suitable for both schooling and shows which I love. When it comes time to buy another helmet, I will be buying another JR8. Great helmet for the price.
Review
Celeste from Arizona wrote (November 02, 2009):
I bought this helmet for my daughter. She just loves it. It is the best fitting helmet she's ever owned. She likes it so much, she won't leave it in the barn. She brings it in the house after every ride!
Review
Abby from Ohio wrote (November 01, 2009):
I LOVE this helmet. Its super comfy and isn't hot at all. The material on the outside is scratch and crush resistant and easy to clean. Very classy looking helmet and is appropriate for the dressage and hunter rings as well as the eventing rings. I wish I would have invested a little more on the GR8 for the leather harness, but this is a great helmet and will last me a long time.
Review
Miley from FL wrote (October 28, 2009):
The first time i wore this helmet the chin strapped snapped. Also the C0 logo came off after a while. Very cheap, i prefer the wellington.
Review
Briana from PA wrote (September 04, 2009):
I absolutely LOVE this helmet.I used to have a cheap IRH,and the JR8 is a thousand times better! It doesn't making my head look huge, it's nicely padded, and it doesn't smell gross after a ride.(it's the silver in the lining)Overall, the best helmet I've ever owned!
Review
Caroline from Ga wrote (August 19, 2009):
I bought this helment used (worn 2x). I was not sure about how hot it would get under there... My head gets hot, but not any more that with a Tipperary, which has like a million vents. Great helment, super comfortable, easy to clean. To clean, I just wipe it off with a moist cloth. LOVE IT
Review
Katie from NY wrote (August 09, 2009):
O M G ! I am in love. This is the best helmet I have ever had. So comfy and fitting. great for showing and really completes the look. I am also 15 and this one fit great so don't spend the extra $$$, this helmet is fantastic!
Review
Carey from TN wrote (August 01, 2009):
I bought this helmet for my 13 year old daughter(who's very picky) for her birthday and she absolutely LOVES it. She is happy with the fit and style! and says it's extremely comfortable! I'm extremely happy with the quality especially for the low price. This helmet is Awesome!
Review
Mary from Michigan wrote (July 27, 2009):
This is the best helmet I have ever purchased! Very flattering and comfortable fit. This is a great helmet at an affordable price!
Review
Amy, Dover Saddlery Staff from MA wrote (June 24, 2009):
This helmet is great! It fits prefect and is very comfortable. It is not bulky and doesn't make your head look big. My head also doesn't get too hot when wearing it.
Review
Madison from CA wrote (June 11, 2009):
This helmet is awesome....very, very comfortable...looks professional...easy to clean. Fantastic value. I though it might make my head hot, but it doesn't.
Review
Em from GA wrote (May 09, 2009):
I am the happy owner of a Jr8 helmet. It is very nicely priced and veeeeery lightweight unlike my other vent helmet. I was very pleased with this and reccomend it to people who ride alot or show!
Review
Josie from Wyoming wrote (February 01, 2009):
I absolutly LOVE this helmet! It so comtorable and It's really fashionable too. :) I'ts great in all 4 seasons and I just love wearing it . And even though it dosn't have the vents, It's still to my liking:)
Review
Pat from WA wrote (January 06, 2009):
This helmet is great! I broke my IRH ELITE HELMET so I had to replace it. I bought the JR8 - this helmet is so comfortable and even after just one day of riding in it! I received so many complements. It doesn't get very hot, it looks just like the GR8 except for the chin strap, it doesn't have a big head look AND its at an amazing price!!! I recommend this to anyone who wants and awesome helmet at an UNBEATABLE price!!! You will not regret this buy!
Review
Kimi from ID wrote (December 17, 2008):
I graduated to this helmet from my IRH ATH after a fall, and I love it to death! My head doesn't look huge, and it did with my IRH. It's really comfortable. Though it doesn't have vents, it doesn't get extremely hot, even in the hot Idaho summers. Plus, it looks like the GR8 without paying an extra $120. :)
Review
Steph from VA wrote (November 14, 2008):
I have 2 charles owens the Jr8 and the wellington professional. The JR8 is a good helmet and all but if you ride alot and show a TOn (only get if you show because of price) I strongley recomend the wellingtion. but if you dont want to spend the money the JR8 is a good choice!
Review
Robbie Lynne from MD wrote (October 25, 2008):
I love this helmet! It is afordable and proffesional!! The only thing I don't like about it is that it gets hot. Other than that, it is wonderful. Awesome helmet!!
Review
Angel from CA wrote (October 09, 2008):
I LOVE THIS HELMET!!! It is so comfortable, and does not make your head look huge! I only wish it had venting for those hot southern California days. It does have silver in the liner, though, to minimize odor, etc. Plus, since it is available in actual hat sizes, the fit is great! (P.S. I am a petite adult, and this helmet absolutely works for me. Saved money, too!)
Review
Ashley from WV wrote (September 24, 2008):
WOW!! i love this helmet!! i'm very picky picky about helmets too because i hate the big head look, and it isnt like that at all! and its sooo comfortable!