Customer Reviews

Overall Rating: 3 Stars
Average Based on 30 Reviews
Great for narrow feet!!
from wrote (October 16, 2012):
I LOVE these boots! I have a very slim calf, but an even slimmer foot/ankle and these boots fit that part of my leg perfectly. I have tried numerous other tall boots that are just too wide around the foot and ankle even when ordering a slim calf. I do have to say that the zipper of one boot broke after 2 years but I wear these boots every time I ride (which is at least 3 days a week and during show season is 5-6) but after having it replaced I haven't had any problems. The leather has faded/rubbed on the inside where it touches my saddle/leathers/horse but again I wear these boots A LOT! For as much riding and walking around as I do in these boots they have held up really really well. Also for the price and how well they fit my slim foot/ankle I will be sticking with this boot in future purchases.
Terrible zippers
Morgan from UT wrote (August 16, 2012):
I don't know much about the comfort and quality of these boots, because the zipper broke two weeks after I bought them... Tall boots are worth spending more money. Avoid zippers at all costs!
Okay boots
Anonymous from NC wrote (April 26, 2012):
I received these as a gift and they look nice and all but the fit just wasn't good. I had to return the first pair to get a wide because I couldn't even zip the boot up. I traded in the original for one that was half a size bigger and wide in calf and I STILL have difficulty zipping up the zipper. The top was wide and loose but the boots were so tight around my calves that I can't walk far with it on without getting cramps in my muscles. I think that if it's meant to be wide, then it should really be wide.
Kerry from RI wrote (February 23, 2012):
i got a pair of these and they were great in the begging then the zipper broke after a year then i recently had them replaced and the zipper broke again and the button on the back broke also. i would not recommend these boots they are not worth the money.
Review
Julie from Moorhead wrote (September 10, 2011):
I got these boots as my first pair of tall boots when I started riding hunters. I thought they were going to be nice boots because they were tough and shiny, but after riding in them a few times i grew to HATE them. They gave me lots of blisters even after months of riding in them for at least 4x a week. the leather did not hold up very well and they did not make my leg look good. they made made my leg look short because of the lack of spanish top and since they are shiny they show every flaw in my leg. for a person who does equitation, that is not very good. a year and a half after i got them, the zipper split in one of them. instead of getting it replaced i just threw them away because i was so frustrated with them. I wouldn't recommend these boots to anyone
Review
Rachael from Texas wrote (August 04, 2011):
I LOVE these boots. I ride two-three horses daily in them and they hold up and shine right up for shows. The zipper just blew out in one after a year -- my friend took them into her leather guy (who works on high end leahter items such as purses, saddles, shoes, etc) and he remarked that these are made better and with better quality materials than the Ariats he's seen over the last few years! Hooray Ovation for providing a quality product for a stellar price!
Review
Shelly from Oregon wrote (April 22, 2011):
These boots were GREAT -- at first. Fit well, looked nice, comfy. I rode in them a lot (4x week). After about 8 months both zippers had blown out and were replaced (yes, upgrade your zippers, Ovation!). Then the toe -- where it's stitched to the boot on top -- cracked, and I could see my socks! Had both toes replaced. They are my 'beaters' now. I'm shopping for replacements and won't buy these again.
Review
Christina from MD wrote (March 23, 2011):
These boots are not very good quality. I have had mine for about a year and I have taken very good care of them, but the leather cracked a lot, especially on the top of the toe and behind the knee. There is some excess leather at the ankle that gives me terrible blisters too (I have 9.5 slims). Also, the zippers are not heavy-duty, and recently broke. These boots look great at shows, but are not good for schooling.
Review
horseMom from USA wrote (December 20, 2010):
Don't like the poor zippers. Also the leather didn't wear down or soften, it cracked in half on top of the toes. Didn't last long.
Review
Ally from NC wrote (October 11, 2010):
Loved it! The reason zippers broke for most people is because they wore the boot unzipped. The zippers spread apart when people do that. They break in easily when they fit you good. I had them fitted at my local tack shop and they look like custom boots. I rode in them the first day I got them and no blisters. When you get them there are instructions on how to keep the zippers working fine. If you want to keep wearing them I would read those instructions. I wear them everyday and for shows and they haven't fallen apart how other people said they did. Overall these boots are awesome and I would recomend them to everyone.
Review
Katie from VA wrote (August 17, 2010):
i got these boots for show boots, they looked nice and broke in quickly, but after about a month, they fell apart!! the leather peeled off and i couldn't even show in them! (I rode in them about 4 times a week and show in them one time) and i did take care of them. get ariats, yes they are a little more money but MUCH NICER!
Review
Lindsay from California wrote (June 24, 2010):
The foot fight very nice but the calf was at least an inch and a half to big. After about 2 weeks the leather started to crease and I did have boot trees. They look some what like someone had tried to cut them in some way. But my friend got these boot and hers are still in perfect condition. Other than that they were very easy to break in and bearly hurt.
Review
Lindsay from California wrote (June 24, 2010):
The foot fight very nice but the calf was at least an inch and a half to big. After about 2 weeks the leather started to crease and I did have boot trees. They look some what like someone had tried to cut them in some way. But my friend got these boot and hers are still in perfect condition. Other than that they were very easy to break in and bearly hurt.
Review
Kristen from PA wrote (May 30, 2010):
I love these boots for being a junior rider they have fit me well for the past year with alot of wear-tear. They are a little tall though.
Review
Emma from CA wrote (May 23, 2010):
This boots have a odd sizing system. I really I'm not sure what size to buy.
Review
Cam from Ohio wrote (December 29, 2009):
I wish these boots had worked... I bought them for my daughter for Christmas, who has a wide calf. The problem was that in her size, the boots are 19 1/2" tall! The calf would have fit, had her legs been another inch or two longer! We have to send them back and look for a boot that's shorter with a wide calf.
Review
Mary from MD wrote (December 12, 2009):
I bought these boots to show in, and they made it through one show and a couple of cross country schoolings before they dropped a good two inches down my leg. The slim size of the boot didn't even come close to fitting my leg and it had a very wide top. I wouldn't recommend this boot.
Review
ashley. from CA wrote (December 10, 2009):
I ordered these boots online and looked at the sizing chart which said I would take a 6 slim with some room to spare (quarter of an inch). I also measured with breeches and tall socks on. I just got them and tried them on wih breeches and tall socks and they wouldn't fit. I'm returning them for a regular. Other than that they were comfy in the foot and ankle and didn't feel too stiff. I'm excited for a pair that fits.
Review
randi from NC wrote (December 03, 2009):
I bought these boots a couple of years ago just to show in localy. fit was good. i wore them about 30 mins at the first show i took them too and the blisters where remarkable. my entire ankle and heel were one big blister. ended up showing halter with them unzipped. the second ride in them the zipper opened upthrough the middle of the calf... ON BOTH BOOTS! they fit well in that area and were not too tight. everytime i put them on now and get in the saddle the same thing happens. needless to say they are in the back of my closet now instead of originally kicking out the extra 50 for a pair of ariats i have to pay all over again. Ovation needs to fix these zippers. i read the other reviews and i am not the only one with this experience.
Review
Alyssa from CT wrote (November 04, 2009):
I bought a pair of these boots, and they broke in very easily. I bought them 3 days before I went to a jumper show and they were very comfortable. But after having them for 5 days, the zipper popped. I have no idea why it did, because they weren't too tight or anything, and they fit just fine, and nothing was stuck in the zipper. Other than the zipper, these were a great pair of boots.
Review
Hanna from New York wrote (June 07, 2009):
I bought these boots to show with my equestrian team but they ended up being to short for me. Other wise they were wonderful! Very comfortable & broke in during the first few rides, and I usually ride in ariats. Easy to clean & maintain & the zippers were fairly heavy duty. I ended up just using them to school because of the height though. If only they made them in tall!
Review
Audra from Delaware wrote (May 30, 2009):
horiible boot doesnt break in easy at all. the zipper rupped and the zupi line thing came undoneand i only rode in it twice or three times. when i put my heel down the zipper broke. all around horrible
Review
Diva Luvr from Colorado wrote (May 29, 2009):
I loved these boots. They are relativly unexpensive and fairly easy to break in. They are great for amature showing and even jumping! Highly recommended!
Review
Deb from Virginia wrote (March 22, 2009):
What is meant by Corinthian leather? According to Wikipedia it is the marketing phrase coined in the Ricardo Montalban commercials for Chrysler Cordoba.
Review
Brooke C. from Wisconsin wrote (February 18, 2009):
I've had these boots for several years and they have held up very nicely. They are very comfortable and are good quality for the price they are.
Review
Brook from Georgia wrote (January 31, 2009):
I was very disappionted with these boots.It took them about 10-12 rides to break them in where I could actually walk without feeling like y legs were about to fall off when Iwas told they should stop hurting after 2 or 3.the leather wrinckled very easy.and just today when I was putting them on the zipper broke. very terrible boots on y part.
Review
rosemary from nc wrote (January 29, 2009):
the zippers broke on me 4 different time but ovation was good about replacing the boots every time and i got the zipper replaced on the and like them much better now
Review
Stable Solutions from California wrote (January 20, 2009):
These boots are very nice.Good quality leather, they break in easily and are VERY comfortable.I would recommend these to anyone looking for a pair of nice boots!
Review
annon. from AL wrote (August 14, 2008):
great first pair of fieldboots, broke in easily, very comfortable, only fit a wide calf horribly. the top was so wide i could stick my hand down it, the back got wrinkly and was in all just unflattering.
Review
HorseTackReview.com from PA wrote (June 18, 2008):
I have been very pleased with these boots. They fit exceptionally right from day one. I followed the instructions from the catalog on sizing and these fit wonderfully. They look like custom boots for a fraction of the price.